Our Nighttime Routines

IMG_4129
So to start out my night routine, I’ve been trying to go to the gym regularly. When it hits 10 o’clock, I go and work out for an hour and have found that it has Pavlovian style trained my body to start getting ready for sleep.
IMG_4128
After the gym, I come back and make a big smoothie (half to drink immediately, half for part of my breakfast). The smoothie helps to prevent late night hunger as well as cooling me down from my workout. My smoothies normally include: 1 cup of frozen strawberries, mangoes and spinach (each), 1 banana ½ cup of applesauce 1 cup of orange juice ½ cup of coconut water 1 tablespoon of hemp protein powder 2 teaspoons of black chia seeds.
IMG_4127
After the smoothie, I then make myself a cup (or 3) of my favorite teas. I’m currently loving the Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime tea, but in the past I’ve obsessed over Bigelow Plantation Mint classic tea, Bigelow Lemon Ginger herbal tea, and the Bigelow Constant Comment tea (I’m a big Bigelow fan).
IMG_4126
Once I’ve enjoyed all my beverages, I take a steamy shower while singing to an assortment of Hamilton, Moana, and Les Mis soundtracks. The Turbie Towel is my best post-shower friend because it secures itself perfectly to help dry my hair.
IMG_4125
I use various combinations of the products above to clean my face during and/or after my shower. There’s nothing nicer than the feeling of a freshly washed face. From left to right: Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash Pink Grapefruit Foaming Scrub St. Ives Blackhead Clearing Face Scrub Green Tea Thayers Alcohol-Free Witch Hazel Toner – Rose Petal The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Mattifying Toner.
IMG_4123
Once I leave the steam bathroom it is time to moisturize! I apply 4 or 5 drops of Radha Rosehip oil onto my face and massage it in. I highly recommend this product to anyone who has dark spots from acne. I then put a layer of St. Ives Timeless Skin Collagen Elastin Moisturizer over the oil and, contrary to belief, it helps to reduce the dewiness from the oil. Lastly for my face, I put Clinique All About Eyes Under Eye cream on my eyes to help reduce puffiness. To top it all off (if I remember), I put on a thick layer of Aveeno Skin Relief hand cream.

 

FullSizeRender
Once my skin care routine is done, I do some nighttime stretches to help further wind down and get ready for sleep. I normally play some smooth piano sounds to increase the relaxed vibe. I’ve only recently gotten into this habit and would be happy for any suggestions of good stretches! Some of my routine includes: Happy Baby, Standing Forward Bend, The Lizard, Up the Wall, The Cat-Cow, and Child’s Pose.

 

FullSizeRender
Then finally I’m ready to crawl into bed and get cozy (not before I turn on my fan because I need that white noise). I’m trying to break the habit, but in the past I would then scroll through twitter or instagram for the next hour until sleep takes me.
IMG_2109
When I start winding down, I put on my cute lil lamb slippers. Then I pitter patter between my kitchen and bedroom about three times because I leave my stuff everywhere. I love unnecessary cute shit, and wow are these slippers perfect.

 

IMG_2105
On one of my many trips to the kitchen I assess the dishes I’ve left in the sink during the day. Usually its at least a few minutes worth of cleaning. I pack snacks and smoothies with me to work and class, so the sink is typically much fuller than this. I’m a stress cleaner, so sometimes when I’m in bed I’ll imagine a mess that I’ve left out during the day and not be able to sleep.  The worst culprit is if I’ve left a big dishes pile up. So I’ve added this to my nighttime routine in the hopes I rest a lil easier at night. *should shrug.*

 

IMG_2113
While I wander around the kitchen doing dishes, I usually have some water boiling for tea. I. LOVE. TEA. My favorite is “Plantation Mint” by Bigelow. Still unsure why it’s called that but it’s so calming. Other tea time favorites are I Love Lemon, also by Bigelow and Lavender Chamomile, whatever the cheapest brand they carry at Harris Teeter is.

 

IMG_2106
After tea I usually get ready to shower. I play music on my non-waterproof shower speaker and get ready to sing my heart out. Lately I’ve been listening to the Hamilton Soundtrack (Again). I pick a few of the sing-ier ones and sing to myself. I also take my earrings out before I shower out of habit.
IMG_2107
Every fifth day or so, I’ll wash my hair in the shower. I have so many shower products, its ridiculous. This picture doesn’t do the whole array much justice. From left to right here are: Maui Moisture Heal & Hydrate, Aveeno Active Natureals Shampoo, OGX Organic Shampoo in Moroccan Mint, and some random Aveda conditioner my sister gave me. I really love the Aveeno Shampoo, and I just ran out of it’s conditioner. Stay tuned for a future post of shampoo reviews!
IMG_2108
When I get out of the shower I usually take my contacts out and light some candles. I’ll read a bit, or think about reading a bit. Currently on the bedside are: The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz, Lady Matador Hotel by Cristina Garcia and In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez. For candles I usually stick to light, sleepy scents like Lavender or Vanilla. This candle is from Bath and Body Works, and wow is it strong. But it was also a gift so here we are.

 

IMG_2117
Dear Diary, check out this new tie dye shirt I just made. Kidding, sort of. I usually journal every night for at least a few minutes. It’s so soothing and I love the idea of being able to read my old journals later in life. I write about things I’ve done that day or things I’m worried about. It’s not directly too anyone, it’s more just statements. I’ve been doing it regularly for about four years now, with the exception of a month where I’ll completely lose my shit.
fullsizeoutput_3
Finally, I get in my bed and cuddle with all of my stuffed animals.I made this lil buddy here out of socks. Then I get on Instagram and tag Lexie in trash memes whilst laughing alone in my room. This usually goes on for an hour and then it’s lights out!
Leave a Reply

